If you’re like some people, you have probably made some New Year’s resolutions at the beginning of the year? OR maybe you’re not the kind to start each year with a resolution?

Either way, most people claim to have at least one wish or desire to change something in their life. I am one of them!

But let’s be honest, how many of us desire to change some things but don’t make any effort to do so? Apparently, many! And the number one reason for not doing so is often put down to lack of motivation. Some claim it’s just because change is hard!

Some people would say they just don’t make the effort but they could be motivated.

So why would people desire change but not do anything about it? Here are 5 reasons I personally think cause people not to put the effort into making lifestyle changes.

  1. No set GOALS!

OR not having a valid reason to make a change.

lifestyle changes_goal pic

In order to make any type of change in your life, you need to have a good reason to do so right? But some people like the idea of just having a goal. This is OK but you have to remember what’s probably more important is the reason you have to reach that goal.

Example: If you want to change your job then you need to have a reason for doing so otherwise you’ll look for a job but you won’t be as motivated as you could be if there was a driver behind it. Reasons could include: wanting more money, to move a step up, change locations, OR for more/greater opportunities.

  1. Setting goals that aren’t SMART!

Remember this – Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic, Timely goals?

Smart goals image

Sometimes people set goals but they’re not specific. E.g This year I’m gonna stress less.

OK…. How? Why? When?

Sometime goals are too large (not Achievable or Realistic). Weight loss is a perfect example here. Say if you need to lose 30kg, the trick is not to focus on the whole 30kg. Instead, if you set smaller goals of say 5kg per month you will find that you can stay on track better as compared to just thinking the 30kg as a whole.

  1. Not having a clear VISION or plan!

vision-2372177__340

Having a clear vision of what you want is a great way to stay motivated. This is why many people recommend  a proper plan and thereafter, keeping track of your goals so you can see how you’re going with time. This can be done in various ways depending on your goal. If your goal is to lose weight then keep photos and images of your progress. If it is another type of goal then keep a journal or blog of your journey. This way you can see what you are struggling with and what you are accomplishing.

  1. Lack of SUPPORT network

No support network is another reason why many people don’t make the effort to change their lives. Getting the support from family and friends can really make a world of difference to many people’s goals. We all need someone to hold our hand from time-to-time, and on various matters.

support network image

  1. Lack of ACCOUNTABILITY

A lot of people will set goals which they keep to themselves and not share with anyone. While this may be a good thing especially if you feel the goal is too personal, sometimes having someone to hold you accountable will help you reach your goal. Sometimes people can struggle or lose hope, but with someone say an accountability partner, they can encourage you when the going gets tough. Instead of giving up, a lot of people say after checking in with their accountability partners or discussing with someone who encourages or helps, they find themselves refocusing instead of losing hope.

accountability partner image

While there’re many other reasons for not wanting or making the effort to make changes, I think correcting the above 5 mistakes will find many having both the drive and commitment to finally make those lifestyle changes.

Have you ever tried to make some changes in your life but failed to do so? Or maybe you didn’t even try but wanted to? Keen to hear your experiences/views/thoughts.

 

Read other posts here:

Is your social life negatively affecting your health?

Too Hard on Yourself? 6 Ways to Silence Your Inner Critic

10 Easy Tips to Help You Lose Weight

53 thoughts on “Is *this* stopping you from making lifestyle changes?

  1. Great post. It’s so true that in order to make progress you have to set realistic goals and have a strong plan and support system to achieve them. You made some great points. Love the “smart” explanation.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When I think about me personally, I also don’t know what I really want to do. My plans for the future are very vague and abstract. I think in that situation it’s good to evaluate what’s important and let tie pass to find what my goals are gonna be. I hope I find out soon! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love that picture at the top – awesome! I personally never make new years resolutions (I only break or don’t fulfil them) but if I set myself goals for uni etc then its good if they are SMART 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The only change I have been able to make is to stop biting my nails. It was a nervous habit that took me years to give up. I have always wanted to live a healthy lifestyle (read- stop eating junk) but I just cannot manage that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • So good to know you’ve managed to change something like bite nails. I hear it’s a hard one to stop!
      I think if you want to live a healthy lifestyle you can. It seems hard but if you do it in small chunks you’ll find yourself eliminating a lot of junk food in a period of time. Try it 🙂

      Like

  5. Your post Is 100% accurate! Last year i had a lot of things that i wanted to accomplish but didnt because i wanted to do 10,000 different things! My hubby sat down with me, and told me I needed to focus on one thing only, because I was getting frustrated. I realized that he was right and i decided to be the best at one thing!! I was less frustrated!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment