OK, so if you read my last article on the tips I use to get rid of clutter you know what I think about clutter. Conversations with a number of people shed some light on the many reasons, I call them “excuses” we have for not clearing the clutter.

The main problem being – we have too much stuff! I bet you have some things you (or someone you live with) keep without having a good enough reason? Yep? I used to be an offender too!

So why DO we keep so much stuff?

It seems for most people it’s easier to come up with an excuse for keeping something and delay making a decision rather than making a firm (and sometimes difficult) choice to say goodbye to it! Sounds about right?

Anyway, here are 5 of my favourite “excuses” for having too much stuff which leads to clutter:

  1. “I might need it someday.”

Ooh, yes you might! The weird thing is most of the items we keep can be easily found or replaced within a day or two. But we decide to keep anyway, in case “we might need it”. I’ve seen men (especially) keep screws and nails which create more and more clutter and in the end they can’t find that little screw anyway because they’ve kept so many, it’s like finding a needle in a haystack!

  1. “It has sentimental value”

“So-and-so gave me this”! I’m all for keeping memories and items that remind us of people we love. But the truth is, memories are not in the clutter! It’s the knick-knacks and “stuff” you have shoved in a box.

I can’t say get rid of everything as it’s not always an easy decision, BUT wouldn’t it be good to try and just keep the special things you cherish? And perhaps display them where you can enjoy them and have a story to tell when someone comments or asks a question about the item, instead of having them shoved in a box!

sentimental value item

  1. I paid good money for it!

I’m sure you did! But the thing is, what has more value – the “item” you no longer have any use for or the way you enjoy your house? It’s either the item or your space. Do the maths!

  1. Oh, I’m just trying to figure out what to do with it…

Honestly, this one cracks me up! Coz really, if it takes that much thinking to figure out what to do with it, maybe it’s not worth holding on to! Simply put, it may not be worth as much to you as you think and it’s a safe bet you won’t miss it too much if you lose it. Ha!

  1. “I’m going to lose some weight and start wearing this again.”

I hope if you have a goal to lose some weight, you do everything in your power to make it happen. And when you do, why not go out and find a sale and buy some brand new clothes. Not only will you buy what’s on trend, but it’ll also be a perfect time to reward yourself!

lose weight and wear it

To summarise, there is a lot more value in enjoying your life, home, friends and family than the “stuff” you either paid for or might need in future. We sometimes keep stuff for no reason and the longer we keep some, the less valuable they will be AFTER living rent-free in your house for that long.

So next time you find yourself making an excuse for keeping something, think again!

Are you a hoarder or do you simply keep stuff for the reasons above? Please share your experiences/thoughts with me.

#getridofclutter #homeorganising #organiseyourhome

Other reads

Five Steps to Get Rid of Clutter and Organize Your Home

Top 3 easy ways to make your home eco-friendly, for less

Increasing Productivity: 12 Tips that Keep Me on Task

55 thoughts on “5 Excuses We Make To Keep Unnecessary Items

    • Lol, love it! I used to keep items too till I realised I’m not that creative so if I’m not using it now, chances are I won’t really need it someday… I wonder what one can make with wine corks though? 🙂

      Like

  1. Oops, I feel totally guilty right now because I have used every single one of these to justify keeping something. I’ve been trying to really reduce my amount of clutter and this was a great reminder to really look at why I’m choosing to keep something. Thanks for sharing!
    xoxo, Sarah
    lifestartzhere.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooooo I’m definitely the “I might need it some day” and the “I’ll lose weight and fit into it again” kind of person. I don’t think I have too much stuff, but I could probably still clear out a lot of clutter. Thanks for the encouragement!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My excuse runs along the lines of “it just seems like such waste to throw it away.” Because I am handy a number of things have gotten new lives but I am working on the things that really are garbage.

    Like

  4. Yep. Nailed it. I have a drawer stuffed with yarn I bought this winter, and a shelf full of hats I crocheted but haven’t given away, yet. I need to find new homes for them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. oh!I think I have all these excuses! 🙂 There are some items which I cant throw simply because of the one who gave it.I also have some dresses which I really cant wear.But,I have a wish to wear those one day! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • hehehe, Kylie – I intentionally didn’t use the word “hoarder” coz I know hoarders don’t always want to be called that. But if you remind them of these excuses they make hopefully it’ll click. lol

      Like

  6. I definitely keep things because I want to lose the weight and wear them again, but usually only the things I spent good money on! So, that’s a two-for-one deal! Other than that, I throw stuff away (or give it away) all the time.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I agree completely! It’s something I struggle with and I definitely have boarder tendencies (I literally feel a physical reaction to getting rid of things), but it’s something I’m really trying to work on. Clutter can weigh you down and really affect your mood. We recently sold our house and packed up a semi truck before putting it on the market. We’ve now lived without that stuff for a month and I could honestly do without all but 5% of it. I’m hoping I still retain that feeling and try to get rid of the majority of it when we unpack it all at the new house this weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for sharing your experience Kristin! I had to laugh at your comment re packing a semi-truck prior to putting your house on the market. This happens lots – we collect and keep stuff esp when we own houses. Come time to move, we need to get rid of most of the stuff. Well done you decluttering though.

      Like

    • Lol! Bree that used to be me “so and so gave this to me”… But i later realised “so and so” gives and forgets. Doesn’t even monitor if I still have it so if I’m not using it why keep it.

      Like

  8. Ugh, I tell myself these excuses too, lol! It is so freeing to declutter though. I need to do some major spring cleaning and get rid of some stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m guilty of keeping things for sentimental reasons. I moved from Costa Rica when I was 7 and I left my entire family behind. Every single thing that reminds me of any of them is like gold, specially my grandmother. Those things are incredibly hard to let go of, even if they might be stored neatly in a box.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This put a smile on my face because ever since I can remember, I have always been considered dangerous when it comes to letting go of things. But my mother who also happens to be my best friend is my extreme opposite! I am definitely going to ask her to read this article too 🙂 And yes I totally agree with your perspective! Great article!
    Namaste

    Like

Leave a Reply

